Faf calls obstructing the field decision a 'joke'

Share

And at the Bay Oval in Mount Maunganui, South Africa opening batsman Jiveshan Pillay was given out for obstructing the field by the third umpire.

West Indies captain and wicketkeeper Emmanuel Stewart appealed for the dismissal and, after a review, got his wish, robbing the South African opener (47) of his second consecutive half-century in the tournament.

Having mis-hit a drive, a watchful Pillay made sure the ball stayed away from his stumps and avoided playing-on.

South African player Jiveshan Pillay was given out "obstructing the field" at the U19 World Cup.

Australian Open: Rafael Nadal dominates Victor Estrella Burgos in First Round
I think it's going to be helpful again for me this year because the court plays exactly the same in Perth and here in Melbourne. She was all class against world number 44 Buzarnescu, making just eight unforced errors for the match.

The third umpire, after watching the footage closely, ruled the batsman out taking into account law 37.4, which deals with "returning the ball to a fielder".

A controversial dismissal in the Under-19 Cricket World Cup 2018 has resulted in heated discussions on social media on Wednesday January 17.

The West Indies under-19 side have been in a similar situation before, particularly when their tournament future is on the line.

In the last edition of the U-19 World Cup in 2016, the Windies had created a controversy when they claimed a two-run win over Zimbabwe by finishing the match with a "Mankad" dismissal.

Wenger called Mike Dean "a disgrace"
Dean wrote: "He was very aggressive leaning towards me, pointing aggressively at me saying "you're not honest" on numerous occasions".

Former West Indies quick Ian Bishop said Pillay should not have been given out because the ball had already stopped before the he picked it up. He is not trying to be unfair.

Saying that a batsman should not be blamed or penalised for picking up the ball and throwing it back to the fielder, he said, "I don't like the way the obstruction law is written".

Various observers argue that because Pillay waited for the ball to be stationary, he didn't interfere with play and that the ball was dead. "They need to convene now and change the law of the game", Jones told THE WEEK on the sidelines of a cricket clinic held at Feroz Shah Kotla Ground to announce the Boxing Day Test between India and Australia later this year. All he is trying to do is help out the fielding team. Can I use some discretion here for the sake of the game and whatever the spirit of the game means? He's obviously a bright kid and he understands the letter of the law.

Marvel Studios release image of Ant-Man and the Wasp
Michael Pena will also star in the film, which sees Peyton Reed, who helmed 2015's "Ant-Man", returning as director. On Tuesday, Marvel Studios released a brand new photo of Ant-Man and The Wasp ahead of July 6 release of the movie.

Share